page-template-default,page,page-id-97,bridge-core-2.7.2,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-25.7,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive


The AJBCC is controlled by a Board of Directors, members of which give their time voluntarily. It represents a cross-section of organisations and people with significant experience in Australia-Japan trade and investment.

The Board meets frequently and is responsible for formulating the organisation’s strategic direction and business community engagement.


Peter Grey

Independent Non-Executive Chairman, MLC Life Insurance

Vice Presidents

Ian Williams

Chair, NXT Building Group

Bob Seidler AM

Principal, Kokusai Business Advisory

Debra Hazelton

Chair, AMP Limited


Doug Bartley

Director, Pacific Title Pty Ltd.


Tim Lester

Principal, Jameson Boyce Partners

Kellie Parker

Chief Executive, Australia, Rio Tinto

Andrew Gauci

Managing Director, Lendlease Japan

Vandita Pant

Chief Commercial Officer - Marketing, Procurement & Logistics, BHP

Andrew Parker

Partner, Asia Practice Leader, PwC Australia

Xavier Simonet

Chief Executive Officer, Austrade

Peter Cleary

Senior Consultant, Shinka Management

Lachie Hart

Managing Director, Stockyard Beef Pty Ltd

Prof. Veronica Taylor

Australian National University

Anthony Pratt

Executive Chairman, Visy

Mark van Dyck

Regional Managing Director - Asia Pacific, Compass Group

Ex-Officio Members

Australia Japan Foundation

Represented by Bruce Miller AO, Chair

Australian and New Zealand Chamber of Commerce & Industry in Japan (ANZCCJ)

Represented by Sally Townsend, Chair

AJBCC Future Leaders

Craig Usmar, Head of Business Relationships - Japan, AMP Capital Investors

Melanie Brock

CEO Melanie Brock Advisory