AJBCC AND JABCC Committees: Videoconference
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-2597,single-format-standard,bridge-core-2.7.2,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-25.7,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

AJBCC AND JABCC Committees: Videoconference

AJBCC AND JABCC Committees: Videoconference

Representatives of both Executive Committees of the AJBCC and JABCC met by video conference last month. The purpose of this meeting was to discuss the key business issues underpinning the Australia-Japan relationship. The two hour meeting provides for a frank exchange of opinions and helps set the high level agenda to be pursued by the AJBCC and JABCC for the year ahead.

The meeting on the Japan side (JABCC) was chaired by its President, Dr Mimura AC, who additionally is Chairman of the Japan Chamber of Commerce and Industry (JCCI) and Senior Advisor, Honorary Chairman, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation. Other participants were:

  • Eiichi Yoshikawa, Deputy President and Co-Chief Executive, Global Business Unit The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ Ltd.
  • Yoichi Kobayashi, Vice Chairman, ITOCHU Corporation
  • Yasushi Akahoshi, President, Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO)
  • Koichi Yajima Senior Adviser, Marubeni Corporation
  • Masayuki Kinoshita Counselor, Mitsui & Co., Ltd.
  • Kaoru Yano Executive Advisor, NEC Corporation
  • Shigeru Nishihara,Senior Managing Executive Officer, Sojitz Corporation
  • Nobuyoshi Aoyama, Director General, The Japan-Australia Business Co-operation Committee

The Australian side was chaired by Sir Rod Eddington AO, President AJBCC and Chairman, Asia Pacific Advisory Council, JP Morgan and included AJBCC Executive Committee members:

  • Ian Williams, Partner Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Ross Adler AC, Chairman and CEO, Amtrade International
  • Bob Seidler AM, Chairman Hunter Phillip Japan
  • Doug Bartley, Director, Pacific Title
  • Stephanie Fahey, CEO Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)
  • Tim Lester, Partner, Hogan Lovells
  • Prof. J Corbett Director ANU Japan Institute
  • Arnoud Balhuizen, President Marketing and Supply, BHP Billiton
  • Grant Crothers, CEO Burra Foods
  • Peter Grey, Chairman MLC
  • Andrew Low, Chairman, CLSA Australia
  • Andrew Parker, Partner PwC
  • Murray McLean AO, Chair Australia Japan Foundation
  • Natalie McDowell, AJBCC Future Leaders
  • Melanie Brock, (by invitation)
  • David Jacobs, CEO AJBCC