AJBCC and JABCC Committees : Videoconference
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-178,single-format-standard,bridge-core-2.7.2,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-25.7,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

AJBCC and JABCC Committees : Videoconference

AJBCC and JABCC Committees : Videoconference

Representatives of both Executive Committees based in Australia and Japan met by video conference in March. The purpose of this meeting was to discuss the key business issues underpinning the Australia-Japan relationship. The two and a half hour meeting provides for a frank exchange of opinions and helps set the high level agenda to be pursued by the AJBCC and JABCC for the year ahead.

The meeting on the Japan side (JABCC) was chaired by its President, Dr Mimura AC, who additionally is Chairman of the Japan Chamber of Commerce and Industry (JCCI) and Senior Advisor, Honorary Chairman, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation. Other participants were:

  • Yorihiko Kojima, Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Corporation
  • Takashi Morimura, Deputy President, The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ
  • Fuminobu Kawashima, Counselor, Mitsui & Co
  • Masayuki Oku, Chairman of the Board, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group
  • Yasuhiro Sato, President & Group CEO, Mizuho Financial Group
  • Satoshi Miyamoto, President, Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO)
  • Kaoru Yano, Chairman of the Board, NEC Corporation
  • Yukitoshi Funo, Senior Advisor to the Board, Toyota Motor Cooperation
  • Yoshihiro Okabe, Director General, JABCC

The Australian side was chaired by Sir Rod Eddington AO, Chairman JP Morgan and included AJBCC Executive Committee members:

  • Mr PJ Coleman, Managing Director & CEO, Woodside Energy
  • Mr I Williams, Partner Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Mr R Adler AC, Chairman and CEO, Amtrade International
  • Mr R Seidler AM, Chairman Hunter Phillip Japan
  • Mr D Bartley, Director, Pacific Title
  • Mr B Gosper, CEO, Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)
  • Mr T Lester, Partner, Allens><Linklaters
  • Prof. J Corbett Pro-Vice Chancellor, The Australian National University
  • Mr Murray McLean AO, Chair, Australia Japan Foundation
  • Ms M Brock, Chair, Australian and New Zealand Chamber of Commerce & Industry in Japan (ANZCCJ)
  • Mr D Jacobs, CEO, AJBCC

The videoconference was generously hosted by AJBCC member company Allens><Linklaters.